top of page

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957): Klavirski kvintet v E-duru, op. 15

Piano Quintet in E major, Op. 15

  • Mäßiges Zeitmaß, mit schwungvoll blühendem Ausdruck 12:06

  • Adagio 11:01

  • Finale: Gemessen, beinahe pathetisch 8:50

Matej Haas, MIladin Batalović, violini, Ana Trnjar Pravdič, viola, Nikolaj Sajko, violončelo, Tjaša Šulc Dejanović, klavir


Benjamin Ellin (*1979): Zapisi s prizorišča za klavir, violino in violončelo

Notes on a Scene for piano, violin and cello

4. Prelude 1:53
5. Tableau I 3:57
6. Interlude I 2:37
7. Tableau II 5:42
8. Interlude II 1:21
9. Tableau III 3:25

Lana Trotovšek, violina, Nikolaj Sajko, violončelo, Miha Haas, klavir


Jani Golob (*1948): Ubrane strune, godalni sekstet

Congruous Strings, string sextet

10. Tranquillo 4:02
11. Largo 3:49
12. Furioso 4:06

Oksana pečeny Dolenc, Maja Peternel, violini, Levente Gidró, Eva Koprivšek, violi, Gorazd Strlič, Nikolaj Sajko, violončela


Carpe artem: Notes is the first album on which the musicians and the program of the Carpe artem chamber music cycle can be heard. The Carpe artem concerts are organized by the Amadeus Chamber Music Society in co-production with the Slovenian National Theater Maribor. Our mission is to provide a permanent source of chamber music concerts, performed by domestic artists in Maribor, as well as in Slovenia.

We want to maintain and develop concerts of interest to musically alert audiences, while encouraging a wider audience to accept more demanding music. At the same time, we offer an artistic and professional challenge to music performers, especially to young artists, who will soon be left without a chance of performing or lose their artistic enthusiasm.

The selection of the program is based on lesser known, perhaps neglected works, which are rarely performed on domestic stages. The Slovenian premiere of the trio Notes on a Scene was given on a Carpe artem concert, whereas the composition Congruous Strings by Jani Golob was commissioned by the Amadeus Chamber Music Society. Even the works of the Austrian composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold, a Viennese wunderkind who immigrated to Hollywood and was awarded with two Oscars for his film scores, were still considered neglected until recently. His piano quintet is distinguished by the highly refined craftsmanship and profound late-romantic expressiveness.

I would like to thank the entire creative team that participated in the making of this CD, the Cultural Centre Narodni dom Maribor, which made it possible for us to record in the acoustically perfect Union Hall, and the Municipality of Maribor and sponsors for the financial support.

Relax and enjoy listening!

Nikolaj Sajko, program director of the Carpe artem cycle 



Notes - E.W. Korngold, B. Ellin, J. Golob - chamber music with piano and strings

    bottom of page